Lady Gaga: Nuhah!

Okay Lady Gaga seems pretty cool on the surface. I mean she’s about the most avant-garde thing in pop music since Madonna or Cyndi Lauper. She’s a LGBT advocate and she’s breaking the ground about perception of female beauty. I must applaud her for these things alone.

But than I saw this…

C’mon Lady!

Here’s the quote :

“You see, if I was a guy, and I was sitting her with a cigarette in my hand, grabbing my crotch and talking about how I make music ’cause I love fast cars and fucking girls, you’d call me a rock star. But when I do it in my music and in my videos, because I’m a female, because I make pop music, you’re judgmental, and you say that it is distracting. I’m just a rock star.

Are you also a feminist?

I’m not a feminist – I, I hail men, I love men. I celebrate American male culture, and beer, and bars and muscle cars…”

Okay, so, what she’s saying she doesn’t want the criticism that comes with of being an empowered woman, but by no means is she willing to be associated with the F-word? Not very edgy.  She gets the double standard that female artist face but refuses to address the issue. I’m surprised that she is that fearful of the stigma.

Contact @LadyGaga and tell not to be scared!

8 Comments

Filed under feminism, Lady Gaga

8 responses to “Lady Gaga: Nuhah!

  1. The funny thing is that many of her actions portray her as a sex-positive post-modern feminist, the radical right in this country have been so effective at highjacking the conversation about feminism and portraying it as anti-man rather than pro gender equality that people who are, by their actions, voting records, etc., feminist, don’t claim that title. Given her career I have a feeling that she hasn’t had the time to attend a liberal arts school and get into some gender studies classes, but I bet if she did she’d change her language and have a stronger theoretical basis for conceptualizing her art and her activism as feminist. I’m all for encouraging her to embrace the F-word for sure, but it took me some time and reading to understand it and get there too. Here’s hoping she has the opportunity.

    • I completely agree. Becoming a feminist is not automatic. I think that she has strong opinions and deserves respect. I like her ideas generally and I thought her choice to of…attire for Q magazine was really ballsy. I hope she comes around. She preaches basic feminist theory she just needs some education and TLC.

  2. I’m not well versed in feminist theory at all, but Gaga declaring that she isn’t a “feminist” doesn’t really mean she doesn’t have feminist ideals. She is completely aware of her feminist and liberal politics, but she also understands that labels are misinterpreted and usually unnecessary*. Declaring herself a “feminist” could potentially alienate her audience and a pop star only exists when that audience is there. She needs to keep the platform (i.e. the media stage) she has or the politics which she embodies will go unnoticed.

    I’m not sure if that made any sense at all but it was my humble take on it. You also must take into account the context in which she makes this grand claim about not being a feminist. The interviewer is obviously interrogating her and making assumptions about her sexuality. He’s rather annoying and condescending to Gaga and she does her best to keep her composure by over-intellectualizing some very simple things. Her affectation in her voice becomes very dominant and the Gaga “act” is intensified. It’s a defense tactic she uses when interviews go badly.

    Ask her again if she is a feminist and I’m sure she will have a better answer for you.

    *I understand the arguments surrounding the necessity or (un)necessity of labels. But I’m still unsure of where I stand.

    • Totally valid point, Bruce. My thing is she is such a strong, opinionated, outspoken, and clearly talented women…she pushed the envelope. Why stop there? Yes, feminism can seem like a label but it is too a stance. Someone in her position could do a lot of good by taking that stance herself.

      If she were to continue being a LGBT advocate and say “but I don’t think gays should have the right to marry or anything I hail the sacrament of marriage” I’d have to call her out on that too. I just fear people cower away from the f-word b/c of stigma that we could erase. There is a disconnect between her opinions and her perception.

    • Callie Hogan

      Delayed reply, but I recently read the Rolling Stone interview with Lady Gaga and found her saying “I know who I am, and I am a feminist,” which shocked me after watching this video months ago.

      I went back to Bitch website to watch the article and re-read some comments. And I agree with Bruce’s last comments, this statement seems to be a response to the interviewer.

      Here’s an interesting article:
      http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/news/music/la-ca-lady-gaga13-2009dec13,0,7273441,print.story

      And I just thought this comment from the original video was really insightful.

      While I absolutely encourage continued discussions on A.) Why young people (young women in particular) resist the label “feminist” and B.) Feminist readings of pop culture, I think that we *may* want to leave open the possibility that Lady Gaga (who is very clearly a *character* first and foremost) may be speaking ironically. She has said repeatedly that she is a performance artist and wishes only to be viewed in the context of her performances. To make a claim as absurd as “I hail men, I love male culture…beer…bars…” etc., after pointing quite smartly to double standards for female sexuality, seems to me playful…she loves to mock her interviewers. She always sounds weary of answering questions about sex. Because the questions themselves are always absurd: I’ve heard her respond to the question “What do you look for in a man” simply by saying “Big dick.” Ask a stupid question, get a stupid answer. That is not to say that people’s frustration about women declining the label feminist is not warranted, but I think that in the case of Gaga (as opposed to, say, Madonna, who refused the label throughout the 90s quite austerely), we might want to talk about how irony, play and performance make a difference. The woman is brilliant…and so very meta. Maybe I’m giving her too much credit, but whenever I see things like this, I read them as part of her performance, which is a celebration *and critique* of pop culture…not her honest opinions as Stefani Germanotta, singer.

      Hooray!!

  3. I don’t think she is afraid of being a feminist, as much as she has no idea what that word means. She needs s little education. Feminist doesn’t equal “hates men.” In fact some of my best friends are men. 😉

  4. Codes Wiseman

    This is a cool blog and I will visit soon. Thanks for the great message! I hope all is well.

  5. Renna Ohr

    I enjoy everything about Lady Gaga! She is a very talented creative person, her costumes are wondrous, she’s fresh and lovely. She exhibited so much grace and class with her audience with Barbara Walters. She possessed a aspiration and she found it, I know she worked hard to get there.

Leave a Reply

