Trans-misogyny, I’m sick of it.

About a week ago a co-worker of mine explained how horrified he was to see a “he-she” at the bar that he took his date to.  This weekend I was walking around St. Marks with a new friend who wanted to share some juicy gossip about a girl we both know who may have once been biologically male. Why is this acceptable banter? I’m sorry but this is insane. That “he-she” is a transgender person. The girl rumored may in fact be a trans person. The point is they are people. I’m sick of hate being acceptable. I’m sick of that which is new or strange to us being stomped out and spit on and kicked out.  I’m sick of being quiet.

Both of these individuals would otherwise identify as being friendly to gays and lesbians, they support gay marriage. But apparently anyone trans is weird.  WTF? Wake up guys, it’s time to shut out this hate.

We all know about Constance McMillen who was sent to a fake prom because she wanted to take her girlfriend to herSenior Prom in Mississippi.  Juin Baize, a transgender student at Constance’s school was kicked out for wearing “feminine clothing.” While it is illegal for public schools to discriminate against students based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex or disability. Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) students have no explicit federal protection.

Demand equal protection for LGBT students!

As a feminist I demand that we accept everyone on the spectrum of gender. In order to fully achieve equality among the sexes we must be allies for to all who are oppressed by patriarchy. If you are a Trans Men or Trans Women, if you’re a Lesbian. If you’re Gay. If you’re a person who is sick of seeing other people excluding those who are different, then I want you to know I’m on your side.

6 Comments

Filed under gender, Transgender

6 responses to “Trans-misogyny, I’m sick of it.

  1. What really bothers me is the amount of trans-misogyny in the especially with gay mne. The way the treat some f2m is shameful. we need to support and stand up for out brothers and sisters.

    Enrique

    • Totally agreed. Prejudice among our most powerful allies is the most harmful. When we team up and work together we have a better chance to fight that which oppresses us all. When we ignore the hurt that isn’t directly affecting us, the problem gets bigger and we grow weaker. It’s easier to demonize the queer and trans community and be ‘okay’ with LGB, it’s easier to stand up for women’s rights but not LGB rights. But it’s also easier to be oppressed and let wealthy white right-winged men make decisions for us all. But easier isn’t better.

  2. Great sentiment; however, I’d choose a different graphic than the HRC logo to represent a blog that includes trans issues as again and again they’ve made and broken promises to the trans community, including on ENDA, and thrown them under the bus.

    • Good point. I chose the HRC logo simply because they are aiding in the case of both Constance and Juin, also I linked their letter writing campaign for the Student Non-Discrimination Act. The ACLU is really most responsible for getting their stories heard and fighting the good fight. Any other images that you might suggest?

      • chartreuseflamethrower

        Are they aiding the case of Juin? I haven’t heard anything about the HRC and Juin.

        Last I heard of the ACLU- they gave up when the school didn’t give them the information and said that Juin and zir family should just move, even though the mother had already said she didn’t have the resources to move (seeing as she’d lost her job over this). Juin did, to Florida, the poor thing was getting death threats and even zir grandma threw zem out.

  3. Thank you for your inspiring words. As an m to f, I deal with hostility everyday. It can be quite infuriating. However, I have had the joy of watching peoples fears and misunderstandings dissolve. I like to take the Gandhi approach: to be as non reactive, forgiving and loving towards people of all sexes, gender and races.

    I can achieve this by not thinking of myself as different, rather, quite the same as everyone else. In fact, since I starting living full time 4 years ago, my ideas of society have become expansive. I can understand men, because I used to be one. I can understand woman, because that is what I am today. I can also understand people who have fear and hatred for trans-people, because I too used to feel this way, but it was internalized. I lived with self hatred for 38 years.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

